Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Fascinating concept perfect for fans of Every Day, Pivot Point & Between The Lives. 

forgotten__span

Forgotten Summary

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

View Forgotten on Goodreads | View Forgotten on Amazon

Forgotten Review

I’ve always been fascinated by explorations of unusual minds, so Forgotten had me interested from the very beginning. I completely loved Pivot Point, in which the main character can see the outcome of a choice before she makes it, Between The Lives in which the main character switches between two lives each night, and Every Day in which the main character switches bodies every single day. Forgotten made me feel a lot like I did when I was reading those three novels, which happen to be three of my very favourites.

London’s story is a sad one – she can only remember what happens in her future, so each morning she wakes up utterly confused. One thing that’s particularly troublesome for London is the idea that those she loves and cares about will be forgotten once they die, as she will have no memories of them in her future, which is a really horrible thought.

London has to leave notes for herself every night, and write down what she wore the day before so as not to repeat her outfits. And that’s only the start of the trouble her memory loss brings. I found Forgotten completely captivating, although the love story was a bit overpowering despite lots of other interesting storylines intertwined with it. There are some twists and turns that you’ll find yourself surprised by, but they could have been more shocking if some of the attention had been on their build-up rather than London’s feelings for Luke.

That said, I did really like Luke and found their relationship endearing, even if it is a little bit hard to believe that she would fall in love with him every day based on her notes and not much else!

Forgotten is well-worth picking up. It’s a quick read that’ll get you thinking, and is definitely one for fans of Pivot Point, Between The Lives and Every Day. Forgotten was Cat Patrick’s first novel, so I’ll be diving into more of her books soon.

Have you read Forgotten or any of Cat Patrick’s other novels? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments section below.

My rating

3.5/5 stars

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *